Ministry Descriptions


The Ministry of the Acolytes includes participation in the Sunday Morning Worship Service by lighting the altar candles to call the congregation to worship and extinguishing the altar candles.

Board of Stewardesses

The ministry of the Board of Stewardesses includes duties assigned by the A. M. E. Zion Book of Discipline. They are to (a) assist the Preacher’s Steward; and (b) make provisions for the support and comfort of the Pastor and his family.

Board of Stewards

The ministry of the Board of Stewards includes duties and responsibilities assigned by the A. M. E. Zion Book of Discipline. They include: (a) receiving and making an exact account of all funds for the support of the church’s ministry; (b) providing a parsonage or other housing arrangements for the pastor and the pastor’s family; (c) providing relief for members in need; and (d) assisting the minister to promote and encourage spiritual growth of all members of this society.

Board of Trustees

The ministry of the Board of Trustees includes duties and responsibilities assigned by the A. M. E. Zion Book of Discipline. They include: (a) responsibility for the physical maintenance and safeguard of the real property, physical equipment and all other assets owned by the church; (b) to insure that order and decorum prevail in the church at all times; and (c) to perform the duties of the stewards where there is not a duly constituted Board of Stewards.

Christian Education Department

The Christian Education Department is made up of various departments of the local church. Its duties are: (a) to make provisions for the organization, guidance and supervision of Christian Education of children, youth and adults in the local church; (b) to provide a unified and coordinated program thus eliminating over-lapping and unnecessary duplication; (c) to make policies to govern the work and involve a cross-section of the congregation in planning for the Board and Department.

Class Leaders Council

The Class Leaders attend Class Leader meetings; visit members that are absent; assist in the collection of the Connectional Claims; visit the sick; and report to the Pastor the conditions of all members on her/his class.

Deaconess Board

The Deaconess Board is a group of women with deep spiritual values and high moral character, consecrated by the Pastor. The women (a) visit the sick, the un-churched and shut-in; (b) counsel the lonely and depressed; (c) pray with and for those who desire prayer; (d) assist with the Sacraments of the Church, i.e., assist candidates and prepare for Holy Baptism and make sure the proper garments dress the Altar.

Junior Usher Board

The Junior Usher Board is an usher ministry for children/youth grades K-12. The youth serve on the fourth Sunday of each month.

Lay Council

The Ministry of the Lay Council focuses on: (a) deepening the spiritual life of the laity; (b) disseminating information; (c) cultivating denominational loyalty; (d) expanding the denomination through education and evangelism; and (e) promoting the Kingdom of God.

Media Ministry

The Media Ministry provides compact disc recordings of church services and special events.

Men’s Ministry

Promotes brotherhood among the men (18 +) of Pilgrim Rest and provides assistance to other ministries when needed.

Music Ministry

The Music Ministry provides spiritual inspiration through song for all major services of the church. Pilgrim Rest has three choirs:

  • Choir
  • Gospel Chorus
  • Youth’s Choir

Health & Wellness Ministry

The Health Ministry is comprised of medical professionals and health service providers from throughout the church. They provide information promoting awareness to sensitive health issues (breast cancer, diabetes, nutrition, high blood pressure, heart disease, etc.). Members of the Health Ministry provide medical assistance and emergency first aid to individuals during worship services and other church activities.

Usher Board

Members of the Usher Board serve as doorkeepers for the church. The Adult ushers serve on the first, second and third Sundays of each month.

Women’s Home and Overseas Missionary Society

The Women’s Home and Overseas Missionary Society of Pilgrim Rest AME Zion Church works in concession with the purpose described in the denomination’s Book of Discipline. It’s purpose is to: (a) Promote growth in the knowledge and understanding of God and His plan of redemption for the world, as revealed through Jesus Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit; (b) Teach the concepts of Christian missions and provide experiences for participation in mission work and its ministries; (c) Exemplify the principles of Christian living and to win others to Christ; (d) Promote the cause of World Evangelism; and (e) Serve as a financial support system to under gird the world mission outreach of the A.M.E. Zion Church at home and overseas, to the end that, through the power of the Holy Spirit; Christ is exalted and God is glorified. There are six (6) departments comprising the Woman’s Home and Overseas Missionary Society:

  • The Parent Body
  • The Young Adult Missionary Society (YAMS) – 22 to 40 years old
  • Young Woman’s Society (Y’s) – 13 to 21 years old
  • The Buds of Promise – 3 to 12 years old
  • The Bureau of Supply to which donations are sent for overseas ministry (medicine, spiritual resource materials, food, clothing, etc.)
  • The Life Members Council – made up of Life members and Life Matrons/Patrons

Women’s Ministry

Promotes sisterhood among the women (18 +) of Pilgrim Rest and provides assistance to other ministries when needed.

Ministry Leaders

  • Ministerial Staff

    • Rev. Vincent Parker
    • Rev. Alphonso Petway, Elder
    • Rev. Jacques West, Elder
    • Rev. Patricia King, Elder
    • Bro. Dennis King, Local Preacher
  • Church Officers

    • Dr. Ronald Smith, Chairperson, Steward Board
    • Rose Howze, Chairperson, Trustee Board
    • Kenneth Mosley, Church Treasurer
    • Charlotte Thompson, Chief Secretary
    • Bro. Dennis King, Local Preacher
    • Eleanor S. Williams, Chief of Protocol
  • Church Staff

    • Marjorie Thompson, Church Secretary
    • Hollie Mosley, Sexton
  • Music Staff

    • Darius Spencer, Minister of Music
    • Kimberly Hannon, Musician/Pianist
    • Eugenia Rankins, Musician/Pianist/Organist
    • Kevin Malone, Jr., Youth Musician/Organist
    • Kaleb Malone, Youth Musician/Pianist
    • Vernon Porter, Drummer